clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Heat Legends Tim Hardaway and Alonzo Mourning named Hall of Fame Finalists

New, comments

Alonzo Mourning and Tim Hardaway were among 10 finalists announced Friday for the Basketball Hall of Fame class of 2014.

Miami Heat legends Tim Hardaway and Alonzo Mourning were named Hall of Fame Finalists for the 2014 induction. The 2014 Hall of Fame class will be announced at a news conference during the weekend of the 2014 NCAA Men's Final Four in North Texas from April 5-7.

"Timmy and I are like brothers, we're joined at the hip. We kind of started that franchise down there in '95 when Pat was brought in by Mickey Arison. To know that we helped start that process in trying to win an NBA Championship is very special." -Alonzo Mourning

This is Hardaway's second time on the ballot, but it is the first time for Mourning. A finalist needs 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee for election into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Induction ceremonies will take place Friday, August 8 in Springfield, Massachusetts.

Eight other players were also named as finalists.

Hardaway was a 5-time NBA All-Star and averaged 17.7 PPG and 8.2 APG during his career. He ranks 13th in the NBA in 3-PT FGM.  An All-NBA First-Team selection in 1997, Hardaway was a member of the gold-medal winning 2000 U.S. Olympic team and was the 1989 WAC Player of the Year at UTEP. In his years with the Heat, he led them to the 1997 Eastern Conference Finals along with Mourning. Hardaway now works with the Heat organization.

Mourning was a 7-time NBA All-star and averaged 17.1 PPG and 8.5 RPG during his career. He was the NBA Defensive Player of the Year in 1999 and 2000 and won the 2006 NBA title with the Heat. He averaged 2.8 BPG over his career which is good for sixth all time. Mourning now works with the Heat organization in player development.

Here's part of the Official Press Release from the NBA:

NEW ORLEANS, LA and SPRINGFIELD, MA - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today, at NBA All-Star Weekend, eight elite players, coaches and one team as finalists from the North American and Women's committees to be considered for election in 2014. Hall of Fame finalist recognition is a career highlight for many in the sport of basketball. This year's list includes six first-time finalists: three-time NBA All-Star Kevin Johnson, seven-time NBA All-Star Alonzo Mourning and 1994 Naismith, NABC Coach of the Year Nolan Richardson, four-time National Coach of the Year Eddie Sutton, two-time NCAA National Championship coach Gary Williams and Immaculata University's AIAW National Championship teams of the early 1970s. Previous finalists included again this year for consideration are five-time NBA All-Star Tim Hardaway, four-time NBA All-Star Spencer Haywood, six-time AAU National Champion Coach Harley Redin and six-time NBA All-Star Mitch Richmond. The Class of 2014 will be unveiled at the NCAA Final Four in April.

"We are proud to present a distinguished group of finalists for the Class of 2014 who have made huge strides in the game of basketball," said Jerry Colangelo, Chairman of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. "Each finalist has made a difference to the game in their own way. It's not going to be easy for the Honors Committee to select the final class members."

Also announced today are five Direct Elects who are the initial members of the Class of 2014. They include Bob Leonard voted in from the American Basketball Association (ABA) Committee, Nat Clifton from the Early African American Pioneers Committee, Sarunas Marciulionis from the International Committee, Guy Rodgers from the Veterans Committee and David Stern from the Contributor Direct Election Committee.

The complete list of eight finalists from the North American Screening Committee include: players Tim Hardaway, Spencer Haywood, Kevin Johnson, Alonzo Mourning, Mitch Richmond and coaches Nolan Richardson, Eddie Sutton and Gary Williams. From the Women's Screening Committee: Harley Redin and Immaculata University.

The Class of 2014 will be announced on Monday, April 7 at a press conference in North Texas prior to the NCAA Men's Championship game. A finalist needs 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee for election into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. The Class of 2014 will be enshrined during festivities in Springfield, Mass. in August.