clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Alonzo Mourning officially selected to 2014 Basketball Hall of Fame

New, comments

The legendary center for the Miami HEAT gets the nod in his first year of eligibility.

© Kirby Lee - USA Today

Miami HEAT Vice President, Player Programs and former player Alonzo Mourning was officially selected today into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

He joins Gary Payton, inducted last year, as the only HEAT players with the prestigious honor. Former Boyd Anderson High School prep star and Fort Lauderdale native Mitch Richmond has also been voted in this year.

However, Tim Hardaway, Richmond's former teammate with the Golden State Warriors and Mourning's teammate with the HEAT for several memorable years, was not selected for a second consecutive years. To get into the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame, a finalist needs 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee.

"I'm humbled and I'm truly honored to be able to stand here before you today and to know I'm going to be a part of such a prestigious group of individuals," said Mourning, via the Sun-Sentinel. "I stand here on the shoulders of so many other people. It really hasn't hit me quite yet."

"I'm very, very grateful."

In addition to Mourning and Payton, the HEAT are also represented in the Hall of Fame by current HEAT President Pat Riley, who was enshrined as part of the Class of 2008, and current HEAT assistant coach Bob McAdoo, who was honored as part of the Class of 2000.

The HEAT sent a press release today detailing his accomplishments:

Mourning's NBA career spanned 15 seasons, including a key role in bringing the HEAT their first NBA Championship to Miami in 2006. The seven-time NBA All-Star and USA Basketball gold medalist was twice named the NBA Defensive Player of the Year and had his number 33 retired by the HEAT in a ceremony on March 30, 2009. He is Miami's all-time leader in blocks (1,625) and tied for offensive rebounds (1,505) and ranks second in points scored (9,459), free throws made (2,558), total rebounds (4,807), defensive rebounds (3,302), double-doubles (205) and double-figure scoring efforts (442) and third in minutes played (17,700), field goal percentage (.537), field goals made (3,445) and games played (593). Mourning is also the HEAT's postseason leader in blocked shots (171) while ranking third in points (989), field goals made (346), free throws made (294), games played (82), offensive rebounds (137) and double-figure scoring efforts (46). He capped his career appearing in 838 games and averaged 17.1 points, 8.5 rebounds, 2.81 blocked shots, 1.1 assists and 31.0 minutes while shooting 52.7 percent from the field. He finished his professional career with 14,311 points, 7,137 rebounds and 2,356 blocks, the 11th-most rejections in NBA history.

Besides his on the court accomplishments, Mourning also works tirelessly in the community. He established the Mourning Family Foundation, a not-for-profit 501c3 public fundraising foundation, to inspire others through advocacy, education and enrichment services. The foundation has raised over 10 million dollars since 1997 for various programs that aid in the development of children and their families. In addition to his numerous community endeavors, Morning co-founded the Overtown Youth Center, a state of the art facility designed to inspire and empower youth and families by fostering hope through enrichment services. After having kidney transplant surgery on December 19, 2003, he formed the "Zo's Fund For Life" in an effort to raise four million dollars for kidney research and to help provide medication to families that could not afford it. He has served as spokesperson for the National Kidney Foundation and launched the "Donate Organs. Pass it On." campaign with the Transplant Foundation which included a statewide license plate for organ donors. He was also awarded the NBA's J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award in 2002.

Mourning and Richmond are joined in the Class of 2014 by Nat Clifton, Bob Leonard, Sarunas Marciulionis, Nolan Richardson, Guy Rodgers, David Stern, Gary Williams and the Immaculata University teams of the early 1970s.

The Class of 2014 will be enshrined during festivities in Springfield, Mass. on Friday, August 8.