clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Heat’s Orlando Summer League Schedule Announced

New, comment

The Miami Heat will open Summer League play on July 1 against the Hornets at the Amway Center practice court.

NBA: Summer League-New Orleans Pelicans vs Los Angeles Lakers Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports

The Miami Heat are one of two teams that will participate in both the Orlando Summer League and the Las Vegas Summer League. The Orlando SL, which is closed to the public, will feature 8 teams.

The Heat will begin play on July 1 and play 5 games in 6 days.

Here’s the schedule:

July 1: 11 a.m. vs. Charlotte.
July 2: 3 p.m. vs. Orlando.
July 3: 5 p.m. vs. Indiana.
July 4: 5 p.m. vs. Detroit
July 6: Championship Day, 8 a.m., 10 a.m., noon and 2 p.m.

The Heat will likely send Okaro White and their 1 or maybe two (if they trade in) draft picks to the Summer League. And there may be discussion of Rodney McGruder going as well. The rest of the roster will comprise of young un-drafted players or players looking for new teams.

The Heat played very well last year in the Orlando Summer League, and that’s where McGruder and Briante Weber found contracts with the Miami Heat.

The four teams the Heat will play before championship day will also have a lottery pick on their roster as well.

NBA Free Agency will begin this day as well. The Las Vegas Summer League will begin on July 7, but that schedule has not been released.