clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Spoelstra named NBA Coach of the Year finalist, Whiteside snubbed for Defensive Player of the Year

New, comments

Coach Spo is the lone representative for the Heat as a finalist.

NBA: Miami Heat at Boston Celtics Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

The NBA has released a shortlist of finalists for the 2016-17 NBA awards revealing three nominees for the six major awards handed out after the conclusion of the regular season. Erik Spoelstra was named along with Gregg Popovich of the San Antonio Spurs and Mike D’Antoni of the Houston Rockets as finalists for the NBA Coach of the Year award.

Hassan Whiteside did not make the cut for Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year, with Rudy Gobert (Utah Jazz), Draymond Green (Golden State Warriors), and Kawhi Leonard (San Antonio Spurs) named. James Johnson, a long shot to be named Sixth Man of the Year or Most Improved Player, was not included among the finalists.

The winners of each award will be announced during the inaugural NBA Awards on TNT, which will take place Monday, June 26 (9:00 P.M. ET). The NBA Awards will also feature NBA All-Rookie Team, NBA All-Defensive Team, NBA Basketball Executive of the Year, Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award, NBA Sportsmanship Award and the Seasonlong NBA Cares Community Assist Award. Included in the awards show is six new fan-voted awards: Dunk of the Year, Best Style, Block of the Year, Assist of the Year, Game Winner of the Year and Top Performance of the Year.

Here are the complete list of finalists:

Complete media voting results for each annual NBA award will be posted on the night of the NBA Awards.