clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Heat receive votes but get shut out at 2018 NBA Awards Show

New, comments

Heat players, Pat Riley and Erik Spoelstra make appearances in the final voting tally.

Charlotte Hornets v Miami Heat - Game Seven Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

The Miami Heat’s rather turbulent 2018-19 NBA season wasn’t able to sway enough voters for the 2018 NBA Awards announced on TNT tonight, but the team did make appearances in the final voting results released by the NBA.

Udonis Haslem placed highest among any member of the Heat, finishing third in the player-voted 2018 Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award with 1065 points (including 36 first place votes, 40 second place votes and 49 third place votes).

Wayne Ellington placed 5th in the results for the NBA Sixth Man of the Year award with nine points (with one second place vote and six third place votes). Kelly Olynyk received two second place votes and a third place vote for seven points and Dwyane Wade also grabbed a second place vote.

Josh Richardson received a single third place vote for the 2018 Kia NBA Most Improved Player Award, as did Erik Spoelstra for Coach of the Year and Pat Riley for Executive of the Year.

Below are the full results of the voting:


Kia NBA Most Valuable Player: James Harden, Houston Rockets | Voting Totals

Kia NBA Rookie of the Year: Ben Simmons, Philadelphia 76ers | Voting Totals

Kia NBA Most Improved Player: Victor Oladipo, Indiana Pacers | Voting Totals

Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year: Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz | Voting Totals

Kia NBA Sixth Man Award: Lou Williams, LA Clippers | Voting Totals

NBA Coach of the Year: Dwane Casey, Toronto Raptors | Voting Totals


NBA Basketball Executive of the Year: Daryl Morey, Houston Rockets | Voting Totals


Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year: Jamal Crawford, Minnesota Timberwolves | Voting Totals

NBA Sportsmanship Award: Kemba Walker, Charlotte Hornets | Voting Totals


Seasonlong NBA Cares Community Assist Award: Kevin Durant, Golden State Warriors


Play of the Year: LeBron Jamesgame-winner for Cleveland Cavaliers vs. Minnesota (Feb. 7, 2018)

Best Style: Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder


Lifetime Achievement Award: Oscar Robertson

Sager Strong Award: Dikembe Mutombo

Hustle Award: Amir Johnson, Philadelphia 76ers