clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dwyane Wade wins 2018-19 Magic Johnson Award from Pro Basketball Writers Association

New, comments

Wade picks up one last honor to close out his final NBA season.

Philadelphia 76ers v Miami Heat Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images

Dwyane Wade has won the 2018-19 Magic Johnson Award from the Pro Basketball Writers Association in recognition to a player who “best combines excellence on the basketball court with cooperation and dignity in dealing with the media and the public.”

Wade was selected out of five finalists for his first-ever Magic Johnson Award, among a group including Bradley Beal, Rudy Gobert, Draymond Green and Nikola Vucevic. It’s the second time a Heat player has won the award, joining Shane Battier for the 2012-13 season.

Wade, a three-time NBA Champion with the Heat and a 13-time NBA All-Star, played 15 seasons in Miami, appearing in 948 regular season games (847 starts) averaging 22.7 points, 5.6 assists, 4.7 rebounds, 1.57 steals and 34.7 minutes while shooting 48.3 percent from the field. His closed out his career as the Heat’s all-time leader in points (21,556), assists (5,310), steals (1,492), field goals made (7,842), free throws made (5,391), double-figure scoring efforts (888), games played, starts and minutes played (32,912).